2 mayors in Duterte's drug list surrender to CIDG

August 7, 2016 By

Two local chief executives in various municipalities on Sunday (Aug. 7) surrendered after their names were announced by President Rodrigo Duterte as allegedly involved in the proliferation of illegal drugs in various parts of the country.

San Rafael Bulacan Mayor Cipriano Violago Jr and former Surigao Del Sur Mayor Rasmiya Macabagos immediately went to the headquarters of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) at the PNP Headquarters in Camp Crame to explain their side.

Violago said he is willing to cooperate with any investigation in order to disprove the allegations against him.

Last Friday, Maguing Mayor Mamaulan Abinal Molok, former Mayor Mohammadali Abinal of Marantao, Lanao del Sur and Mayor Rasul Sangki of Ampatuan, Maguindanao also surrendered to the CIDG to give their statement.

Mayor Rolando Espinosa of Albuera, Leyte, was the first to surrender to PNP Chief Director General Ronald Dela Rosa.

Like the three incumbent and former mayors, judges and local chief executives named may likely be also sent home since the PNP has no basis to hold them.

Earlier, Dela Rosa also said that he is expecting other local officials to surrender.

The PNP Chief said the statement that would be provided by those who yielded could be used against them by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

But he said what is important is the intention of those who surrendered to reform and help in the government’s campaign against illegal drugs.

He also said these mayors who have surrendered earlier already pledged to lead the war against illegal drugs in their municipalities. | PNA